8 June 2014, Joensuu (FI): Pre-conference AEBR-ABS-BIG Round Table Meeting “ Co-operation between research community and regional actors in CBC”

Veranstaltungsort: Joensuu, Finland

Dr. Jussi Laine
Researcher, DSocSci
Treasurer and Vice Executive Secretary of the Association for Borderlands Studies
University of Eastern Finland, Joensuu Campus
Karelian Institute
Yliopistokatu 2, Aurora
P.O.Box 111
FI-80101 Joensuu, Finland
P: +358 50 433 8252

Date: Sunday 8th June 2014
Place: University of Eastern Finland, Aurora-building, AU 100
Duration: 3 hours, 9-12 a.m.

The Round Table raises up the following topics:

• How to translate high-level academic research on CBC in to practice for the benefit of the broader community?
• What can be learned from the practices used in other contexts?
• What are the issues which could be interesting for research community based on the needs of regional actors?
• Which kind of methods and networks could be used for the common interests?
Prof. Victor Konrad, Carleton University, Canada, ABS/BIG

• Members of the AEBR Executive Committee
• Participants of the ABS conference + BIG project
• Local stakeholders

The meeting is expected to collect 40-50 participants from the groups mentioned above.
Responsible organizers:
• Dr. Eira Varis, Regional development manager, Regional Council of North Karelia
• Dr. Martin Guillermo Ramirez, Secretary General of the AEBR
• Prof. Ilkka Liikanen, University of Eastern Finland
• Dr. Jussi Laine, ABS


• Mr. Pentti Hyttinen regional mayor of the Regional Council of North Karelia
• Ms. Annukka Mäkinen, Association of Finnish Local and Regional Authorities
• Ms. Elina Pajula, Pohjois-Karjalan Sosiaaliturvayhdistys
• Dr. Martin Guillermo Ramirez, Secretary General of the AEBR
• Prof. James W. Scott, University of Eastern Finland
• Prof. Ilkka Liikanen, University of Eastern Finland
• Prof. Emmanuel Brunet-Jailly, University of Victoria, Canada
• Prof. David Newman, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel

Intro by Ann-Sofi Packgren, 1st Vice-President of AEBR
Followed by presentation in pairs as follows:
• 1. Prof. Brunet-Jailly – Mr. Hyttinen
• 2. Prof. Scott – Ms. Mäkinen
• 3. Prof. Liikanen – Ms. Pajula
• 4. Prof Newman – Dr. Guillermo Ramirez
Two presentation in a row followed by discussion (30 min per pair)
Session includes coffee break (approx. 50 pax)
Final discussion
Together 3 hours
Lunch to follow at 12 pm