European Regional Organisations

Together with AEBR, the following make up the five largest European regional organisations:

  • Council of European Municipalities and Regions (CEMR);
    The CEMR combines local and regional authorities from all over Europe and as such most projects are launched at local level.
  • Assembly of European Regions (AER);
    Created in 1985, the Assembly of European Regions (AER) is a political organisation of the regions of Europe and the speaker for their interests at European and international level. Its mission: to bring together the regions of Europe and to allow them to act in the construction of Europe and European integration.
    The AER currently has 250 member Regions from 26 countries and 12 member interregional organisations.
  • Conference of Peripheral Maritime Regions of Europe (CRPM);
    The CRPM comprises local peripheral and maritime areas. In addition to representing the in-terests of these regions, the CRPM primarily deals with regional planning, and regional and cohesion policy.
  • Eurocities.
    Eurocities is an association of Europe's large cities. CEMR and AER deal with all local and regional issues. AEBR, Eurocities and CRPM also handle gen-eral European issues with a local a regional slant, but their main focus is on specific member issues, e.g. AEBR deals largely with border- and cross-border issues.

In the 1990s, it emerged that a joint approach by European regional organisations in important areas was necessary and could be very positive. This led to a high-level meeting in March 2002 in Linz, Austria at which joint working documents were drawn up on the following areas:

  • regional policy and cohesion,
  • governance and the future of Europe
  • transport networks in Europe,
  • sustainable agriculture and protection of rural areas,
  • sustainable development.