Karl-Heinz Lambertz, Minister President of the German-speaking Community of Belgium, today re-elected President of AEBR for the period 2013-2014.:

AEBR Secretary General Martín Guillermo Ramírez, AEBR President Karl-Heinz Lambertz, AEBR 1st Vice-President Ann-Sofi Backgren (Source: Johannes Moisio, TFEB)

The Association of European Border Regions (AEBR) has held its General Assembly on 8th November 2012 at the Auditorium Friedrichstrasse in Berlin. This is an election year for the AEBR and President Karl-Heinz Lambertz (Minister-President of the German-speaking Community of Belgium) has been re-elected unanimously by 200 representatives of European border and cross-border regions. Ms Ann-Sofi Backgren (Regional Council of Ostrobotnia, FI) has been re-elected as 1st Vice-President and the Vice-Presidents Ms Cristina Teniente (Extremadura, ES), Mr Mark De Buck (Euregio Scheldemond, BE), Mr Kyriakos Charakidis (Euroregion Nestos-Mesta, GR), Mr Bernhard Bramlage (Ems Dollart Region, DE), Ms Gabriele Lackner-Strauss (Euroregion Bayerischer Wald-Böhmerwald-Mühlviertel, AT), Mr François Maïtia (Aquitaine, FR), Mr Jan Zahradník (Euregio Silva Nortica, CZ), Mr Dieter Friese (Euroregion Spree-Neiße-Bober, DE) and Mr Zbigniew Kulik (Euroregion Nysa, PL) as well as the rest of the members of the Executive Committee.

Pre-Conference Debate on European Territorial Cohesion and Neighbourhood Policy (Source: Johannes Moisio, TFEB)

In the afternoon a Pre-Conference event has been organized to discuss about the future EU Territorial Cohesion Policy with the Director General of Urban and Regional Policy of the European Commission, Mr Walter Deffaa, the MEP Mr Markus Pieper (REGI Committee), the President of the AEBR, Mr. Karl-Heinz Lambertz,  and the Chairman of the AEBR Advisory Committee, Mr Jens Gabbe. Ms Ruth Taillon (click for presentation), Deputy Director of the Centre for Cross-Border Studies (Northern Ireland) has also explained the Impact Assessment Tool for Territorial Cooperation developed by her institution and the TEIN (Transfrontier Euro-Institut Network). A very lively debate has taken place with the participants, concentrated on the need to make new Operational Programmes for Cross-Border Cooperation more flexible, to decentralize its management, to consider people-to-people projects more in line with the thematic priorities proposed by the Commission, and the need to have a better governance of programmes, including the different political levels.

Family Photo of the Task Force External Borders (Source: Johannes Moisio, TFEB)

The day ended with workshops organised by the AEBR Task Forces: 
> CB Health;
> External Borders;
> CB Water Management;
CB Culture.  

<< back