Cross Border Award Sail of Papenburg 2013:


Liège. For the 12th time the Cross Border Award “Sail of Papenburg“ has been endowed by the Association of European Border Regions (AEBR). This award is a unique and eminent European distinction in the field of cross-border cooperation, endowed for the first time in 2002 in the region where it was invented, the Ems Dollart Region (EDR) in Paenburg. 

This year the award ceremony took place in Liège in the framework of the General Assembly and Annual Conference of the AEBR on invitation of member of AEBR Euregio Meuse-Rhine.

The motto of the Award 2013 is: “Urban and rural integrated areas – cross-border challenges and chances“. This year’s winning region is Lower Austria – Burgenland – Bratislava with the project Bratislava-urbanregional cooperation (BAUM). The characteristic of this project is the creation of a master plan for the implementation of common strategies in the fields of agriculture, nature and landscape protection as well as tourism and living. First measures have been implemented, successes can be already measured.

Dr. Reinhold Kolck aus Emden, chairman of the award jury, stresses: “It can be stated that there is a clear tendency of increased quality of the presented projects, on a European level. There are more and more large-scale integrated concepts, leading to the implementation of concrete measure.“

This year the “Sail of Papenburg“ is organized under the patronage of President of the European Parliament Martin Schulz and Commissioner for Regional Policy Johannes Hahn.


From time to time, the AEBR also endows  the personal award “Sail of Papenburg“, in order to honour high-ranking European personalities and their commitment to cross-border cooperation. In 2013 this award was endowed to Ms Danuta Hübner, former member of the European Commission, currently chairperson of the committee on regional development of the European Parliament. Ms Hübner was honoured for her commitment for many years in the field of European regional policy and cross-border cooperation.

On 7 November 2013, Mr. Karl-Heinz Lambertz, Minister-President of the German-speaking Community of Belgium, President of the AEBR, Chairman of Euregio Meuse-Rhine, handed the award over to Ms. Danuta Hübner on the occasion of the AEBR Annual Conference 2013 in Liège. 

<< back