Karl-Heinz Lambertz re-elected President of AEBR for the term 2011/2012 :

Ann-Sofi Backgren, Member of the Board of the Regional Council of Ostrobothnia, new 1st Vice-President


AEBR General Assembly 2010 - Election of the AEBR Executive Committee for the term 2011/2012

On the occasion of the AEBR General Assembly held today in Dundalk/East Border Region, the AEBR members elected the association’s new Executive Committee for the years 2011/2012.

Karl-Heinz Lambertz, Minister-President of the German-Speaking Community of Belgium, was unanimously re-elected President of AEBR. He said after the election that he was grateful for the trust that the member regions have put in him.

Due to his long experience in the field of cross-border cooperation, Mr. Lambertz was the ideal candidate to fill the post of AEBR President. He is chair of the Working Group on Interregional Cooperation and General Reporter of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities (CLRAE) on Cross-Border Cooperation. Since 2009, he has also been a member of the Bureau of the Committee of the Regions, and is active in the EDUC and ECOS commissions of the CoR.

Mr. Heider, who served as the organisation's fist Vice-President for a long period, did not run again for the post due to retirement. The new 1st Vice-President of AEBR is Ms. Ann-Sofi Backgren, who had been holding the post of Vice-President for the Nordic members since the year 2002.

All other Vice-Presidents were elected as nominated: Maria Dolores Pallero Espadero (First Vice-President and Spokesperson of the Regional Government of Extremadura, Spain), Marc De Buck (Deputy of the Province of East Flanders, Belgium), Kyriakos Charakidis (Euroregion Nestos-Mesta, Greece/Bulgaria), Bernhard Bramlage (Ems Dollart Region, DE/NL), Gabriele Lackner-Strauss (President of Euregio Bayerischer Wald/Böhmerwald), François Maïtia (Vice-President of Région Midi-Pyrénées, France), Dieter Friese (President of Euroregion Spree-Neisse-Bober, Germany/Poland), Zbigniew Kulik (Euroregion Neisse-Nysa-Nisa, Poland/Czech Republic/Germany).

Another new post to be filled was the one of the AEBR Treasurer. Günter Alsmeier, President of the EUREGIO Council (DE/NL), is succeeding Frans Willeme, who filled this position for the past 8 years.

Jens Gabbe was reconfirmed as chairman of the Advisory Committee of AEBR. Dr. Reinhold Kolck, Vice-President of AEBR since the year 2002, stepped down this year, but  will continue his good relationship with AEBR as Vice-Chairman of the AEBR Advisory Committee.

Please log onto our website www.aebr.eu to see the new list of the AEBR Executive Committee 2010.

<< back