Euroregion Nestos-Mesta

Annual Meeting of Hellenic Chambers of Commerce on 12 and 13 May 2017 in Drama :

From left: Mr. Georgiadis (President of Drama Chamber), Mr. Michalos (President of the Union of Hellenic Chambers), Mr. Gabbe (Chair of the AEBR Advisory Committee)

Three representatives of AEBR took part in the Annual Meeting of the Hellenic Chambers of Commerce: AEBR Secretary General Martín Guillermo Ramírez, Jens Gabbe, Chair of the AEBR Advisory Committee, and Johannes Moisio, Chair of the AEBR Task Force External Borders. Representatives of 60 Chambers of Commerce were present, and in total 200 participants gathered in the Greek city of Drama to discuss current and future challenges.

During this event, Stefanos Georgiadis, President of Drama Chamber honoured both Martín Guillermo Ramírez and Jens Gabbe with commemorative plaques. They paid tribute to their long-standing ties with the city of Drama and their strong support and commitment to place cross-border cooperation at the European agenda.

In his speech, Mr. Georgiadis referred to the outstanding achievements of the AEBR representatives: “The Drama Chamber which through the Euroregion Nestos – Mesta is a strong member of AEBR honours today:

  • Mr Jens Gabbe who is a distinct personality in European Union as the ‘father’ of policies concerning cross border programmes. He has contributed immensely to the creation and implementation of these programmes. Today, he is an important researcher in issues pertaining to the subject which are of importance to us as border regions and as regions in the EU. All the Directors in DG Regio have consulted Mr. Gabbe. We know him since 1992. That year as Executive Secretary of AEBR he organized an important conference in Komotini. It was the first time in Greece that we heard the term “Cross Border Cooperation” and we learned all the relevant policies and programmes about it. He supports and assists our work continually since then. Most of all, he is a friend of the Chamber. He is a friend of Drama which he has visited many times.


From left: Mr. Guillermo Ramírez, AEBR Secretary General, and Mr. Georgiadis, President of Drama Chamber
  • We also honour Mr. Martín Guillermo-Ramirez, the Executive Secretary of AEBR. He is our man in Europe. We use him as “our ears” and “pir eyes” so we learn what is happening, what is going to be happen, how to solve our problems and how we will benefit from the EU. He is full of enthusiasm and always eager to support our efforts.

Drama Chamber is holding the Presidency of Euroregion Nestos-Mesta, which is a member of the Association of European Border Regions since 1997. The Euroregion covers the Drama Regional District in the Region of Eastern Macedonia – Thrace in Greece and the River Mesta Region in the Region of Blagoevgrad in Bulgaria.   More information: .

<< back