AGEG AEBR General Assembly and Annual Conference 2014 in Rzeszów - Presentations, resolutions, final declaration etc. und Jahreskonferenz 2014 in Rzeszów:

Source: AEBR

(Article also available in German.)

The AEBR General Assembly and Annual Conference was this year held from 11 to 14 September in Rzeszów (Poland). Host was the "Association of the Carpathian Euroregion Poland". The Annual Conference had the main topic "Innovation and Research –Cross-Border Regional Development through Public-Private Partnership". More than 250 professionals and stakeholders dealting with cross-border cooperation as well as decision-makers from regional, national and European levels took part in this event. 

Prior to the Annual Conference, the members of AEBR gathered for the General Assembly and elected the AEBR Executive Committee for the years 2015-2016. Karl-Heinz Lambertz, President of the Parliament of the German-Speaking Community of Belgium, was reelected President of AEBR. The list of all members of the AEBR Executive Committee is available at

The Annual Conference was opened by AEBR President Karl-Heinz Lambertz, who spoke about “Changing paradigms in cross-border cooperation: Innovation through public-private partnership”. Further opening and welcome addresses were given by Józef Jodłowski, President of Carpathian Euroregion, Catarina Segersten Larsson, 2nd Vice-Chair of the CoR Ecos Commission, Roman Holzer, Vicepresident of the City of Rzeszów, and Jacek Pilawa, Assembly of European Regions, Region of Lower Silesia. They warmly welcomed the numerous participants. 

Afterwards, Nataliia Gavkalova, Euroregion Slobozhanschina, gave a short presentation on the AEBR Info Center in Kharkiv and the current situation in the Ukraine.Dieter Friese, Vice-President of AEBR, Euroregion Spree-Neisse-Bober, explained the study visit organized by this Euroregion to Kursk (Russian Federation) in the Euroregion Yaroslavna.

Nuno Almeida, Norte Portugal and Xosé Lago, Galicia (ES) presented the initiative to have a common management of European Funds in both regions in the current period.

The introductory “Case of the Host” focused on Policy Innovation and SMEs: the case of Podkarpackie. 

Most of the presentations, which were given during the panel discussions, are available for download: 

  • Panel discussion Potencials of innovative aero-clusters in cross-border regions

Chair: Krzysztof Kaszuba, Rector of Wyższa Szkoła Zarządzania w Rzeszowie, President of Małopolski Economy Institute
Jakub Węglarz, Subcarpathian Aviation Cluster 
João Taborda, Director of Externals Relations for Europe, Middle East and Africa–Embraer (-> Präsentation Embraer). 

  • Panel discussion Branding a cross-border region

Chair: Dawid Lasek, Vice-President of the Managing Board, Association of the Carpathian Euroregion Poland
Piotr Lutek, Director of Synergia, Project CARPATHIA
François Maïtia, Working Community of the Pyrenees (FR/ES), Member of the Regional Council of Aquitaine (FR), Vice-President of AEBR
Jesper Bille, Leader of the project « Branding of the Fehmarnbelt Region » (DE/DK)" (-> Presentation Fehmarnbelt Region)
Jens Gabbe, Chair of the AEBR Advisory Committee (-> Presentation EUREGIO (DE/NL)

The first conference day ended with meetings of the AEBR groups and Task Forces (German Group, Cross-Border Culture, External Borders). Main discussion point of the German AEBR members were the toll plans of the German Bundesregierung. The resolution passed by the members of AEBR in this regard is available for download in English and German

Source: AEBR
  • Panel discussion Innovation along internal and external borders - challenges and chances 

Chair: Jean-Marie Belliard, Member of the Regional Council of Alsace (FR), AEBR Vice-President
Olivier Brunet, Policy Officer, DG Research & Innovation, European Commission (-> Presentation: Innovation in CB areas)
Halyna Lytvyn, Carpathian Euroregion Ukraine (UA/RO/PL/SK/HU), (-> Presentation Innovation in CBC)
Astrid Vliebergh, Head of Department for Economy, European and International Cooperation, Euregio Scheldemond (BE/NL) (-> Presentation Euregio Scheldemond)
Martón Pete, Central European Service for Cross-Border Initiatives (CESCI, HU) (->Presentation Hungarian-Serbian Border)
Jaroslav Bobitski, Professor of the University of Rzeszów

  • Panel discussion: New Technologies: Cross-Border Smart Innovation - Perspectives and Problems

Chair: Xosé Lago García, Xunta de Galicia (ES/PT)
Finn Lauritzen, Director of Øresund (DK/SE)
Milan Jeřábek, INPOK-Project, Euroregion Elbe/Labe (CZ/DE) (-> Presentation INPOK Project)
Katarzyna Rzyszczak, eSENS Project, Centrum Elektronicznej Gospodarki, Instytut Logistyki i Magazynowania, Poznan (PL)

  • Panel discussion Energy and Environment

Chair: Anita Orlund, CEO at Lillestrom centre of Expertise, Norway (NO/SE) (->Presentation Energy and Environment)
Klaus Luther, Europaregion Tirol-Südtirol-Trentino (AT/IT)
Leena Leskinen, Environmental Planner, North Karelia (FI/RUS) (-> Presentation North Karelia Vision)
Bert Bouwmeester, Vice-President of Ems Dollart Region (DE/NL) (-> Presentation Energy and Enviroment in the Ems Dollart Region)

  • Panel discussion: Tradition and Renovation: Cross-Border Tourism and Agro-Industries as Source of Innovation

Chair: Cllr. Pat Treanor, ICBAN (Northern Ireland / Ireland)
Wilhelm Patri, Director of Regionalmanagement Oberösterreich, Euregio Bayerischer Wald / Böhmerwald (AT/CZ/DE) (-> Presentation "Grenzübergreifender Tourismus in der Euregio BWBW")
Peter Hansen, Executive Director of Region Sønderjylland-Schleswig (DK/DE) (-> Presentation "Grenzüberschreitender Tourismus und Landwirtschaft als Innovationsquelle")
Sjaak Kamps, Executive Director of Euregio Rhein-Waal (NL/DE)

Source: AEBR

After the panel discussions, the AEBR Cross-Border Award “Sail of Papenburg” 2014 was presented. Patron of this year's edition was  Johannes Hahn, EU Commissioner for Regional Policy. Main topic of the Award Call  2014 was INNOVATION AND RESEARCH – CROSS-BORDER REGIONAL DEVELOPMENT THROUGH PUBLIC-PRIVATE PARTNERSHIP.

Reinhold Kolck, Chair of the jury, shortly presented the winner project: “SME Crossborder Cluster Stimulation Programme (GCS)” of Euregio Maas-Rhein. The jury decided to award this project because it has a special concept, dealing with topics of utmost importance in the current European vision: Innovation, Growth, Energy Clusters, SME. Applauded by the audience, the representatives of Euregio Maas-Rhein were handed over their trophy and the certificate. 

The last panel discussion of this day took place with  Jaime del Castillo, President of INFYDE – Information and Development, on the role of regional innovation strategies in the current EU programming period, and Olivier Brunet, DG Research and und Innovation, European Commission, on recommendations for cross-border regions to face the "innovation" challenge. 

Martín Guillermo Ramírez, Secretary General of AEBR, moderated this discussion, drew conclusions from the previous panel discussions and presented the AEBR Final Declaration 2014. This declaration is available for download in EnglishFrenchGerman

The last version of the overall programme of the AEBR events in Rzeszów is also available for download in EnglishFrenchGermanPolish

The next General Assembly and Annual Conference of AEBR will take place in 2015 in Brussels (exact date and venue will soon be announced). 

<< back