XXXII Plenary Session of the Working Community of the Pyrenees, 5 - 6 November 2014 :


The Working Community of the Pyrenees held its XXXII Plenary Session on 5 and 6 November 2014 in Andorra. Main topic of this session was “Frontera: Territorio de Oportunidades” (Border: Territory for Opportunities).

In the morning of 5 November, the Executive Committee held its meeting. The Presidents of the 8 partner regions of the Working Community met in the afternoon, followed by a press session. The second day started with a presentation of Gilbert Saboya Sunyé, President of the Working Community of the Pyrenees and Minister for External Affairs of the Government of Andorra, as well as President of the Andorran CBC Agency. Afterwards, the proposal for the territorial cooperation programme Spain-France-AndorraPOCTEFA 2014-2020 (PROGRAMA DE COOPERACIÓN TERRITORIAL ESPAÑA-FRANCIA-ANDORRA 2014-2020) was presented. The planned programme focuses mainly on improving mobility of goods and people, revitalization of the business, promotion and preservation of the environment, prevention of natural hazards and climate change issues.

AEBR Secretary General Martín Guillermo Ramírez was invited to take the floor in the plenary session. He thanked for having been invited and explained the long way from initial CBC actions until now, very close to commemorate 25 years of Interreg. It has not been easy, particularly when decentralized CBC sometimes clash with the traditional concept of sovereignty and obsolete national views about the border. On the other hand, even in a United Europe still exist many obstacles for mobility across borders: small transport links, taxation, social security issues, recognition of diplomas, etc. In border areas, a Common Market is growing, but a Single Market is far from having been achieved. CB regions are laboratories of European integration, and their cooperation provide a solid base for the construction of the European House.

Some AEBR full members were represented in this Plenary: Vicepresident Francois Maitia (Aquitaine), Mikel Antón (Basque Country), Marc Carballido (Midi-Pyrénées). Representatives of Catalonia, Aragón, Navarra and Languedoc-Roussillon also took the floor. They pointed out some of the current challenges of the CTP and several solutions: the need to reinforce business cooperation, establishing a collaborative competition, the visibility of the processes in the Pyrenees, the importance of the Pyrenean Observatory of Climate Change, the importance of focussing in project bearers

Towards the end of the plenary session, the representatives of the presidents of the 8 partner regions gave their interventions. They signed a Joint Declaration and gave their commitment to ensure that real cross-border projects and programmes are implemented, which are aimed at achieving the objectives under the Europe 2020 strategy document that was agreed by the eight regions.

More about the Working Community of the Pyrenees’ Plenary Session: .

<< back