Contact us


First AEBR office was established in Bonn in 1971. In 1987, AEBR Secretariat was settled at the premises of EUREGIO in Gronau (Westphalia), very close to the German border with the Netherlands. This is the official headquarters and the centre of AEBR administration and finances. A flexible Project Office was set in Berlin in 2012, where AEBR Secretary General is also based. The Association has an agreement with the Spanish region of Extremadura to use its Brussels Office as AEBR Antenna in the European capital. Additionally, two information centres have been established outside the EU, one in Kharkiv (Ukraine), at the ‘Simon Kuznets National University of Economics’, and another one in Belgrade (Republic of Serbia), at the ‘ICBC Institute’. All these branches have their specific in providing services for border regions.

Read more
Association of the European Border Regions (AEBR)

How AEBR works


AEBR has currently about 100 members – border and cross-border regions in the Member States of the European Union and the Council of Europe. The list of members also includes various associations of border regions, and recently, Chambers of Commerce in border regions without permanent cross-border structures have also joined the Association. There are strong relationships with non-members through project partnerships, participation in other networks, etc. And there is also regular contact with cross-border experts, scholars, politicians, practitioners, entrepreneurs, and citizens in general.

The highest AEBR body is the General Assembly of members, which contributes to forming AEBR’s policy, debating and deciding on the most important issues. It meets once a year and elects AEBR representatives every other year. AEBR Executive Committee gathers representatives of AEBR members to report and make their opinion on current developments regarding Cohesion, especially Territorial Cohesion (Interreg and other CBC programmes, as well as other EU policies particularly affecting border regions), to discuss internal organisational and financial issues, to assess AEBR’s work, and to exchange on other topics of interest for cross-border cooperation. They meet at least three times per year.

Find here the updated list of AEBR ExCom members 2022-2024 in English and in German.

To support AEBR, an Advisory Committee was created in 1977. The “Beirat” consists of personalities, on their behalf or representing associations or institutions, who are active in the field of cross-border cooperation and have gained recognition for their contributions. The advisory board counsels AEBR on all issues of cross-border cooperation.

The President of AEBR is the highest-ranking representative of AEBR, while the Secretary-General has the authority to act solely on behalf of the Association, as well as to represent it.

AEBR works on many aspects concerning border regions and cross-border cooperation. To be able to cover the most relevant issues of border regions and cross-border cooperation, AEBR has established various Task Forces since 2007 consisting of experts in every particular field:

  • TF ‘Cross-Border Health’ (2007 to date)
  • TF ‘External borders’ (TFEB) (2007 to date)
  • Languages and Borders Network’ (2008-2010)
  • TF ‘Strategy & Finances’ (2009-2010), later “Presidium meeting” (2012-2022)
  • TF ‘CB Programmes & Projects/Future Interreg Programmes (2009-2010, 2012-2014)
  • TF ‘Interreg’ (2014 to date)
  • TF ‘CB Culture’ (T4CBC) (2012 to date)
  • TF ‘CB Water Management’ (2012-2016)
  • Working Group on Small Project Funds and People-to-people projects (SPF & P2P)
  • TF ‘CB Labour Market’ (2013 to date)
  • TF ‘CB Data & Innovation’ (2016-2017): concentrated its work on a project proposal for an ESPON targeted analysis on Cross-Border Impact Assessment, based on a CB Territorial Impact Assessment Tool developed by Prof. Eduardo Medeiros (University of Lisbon) under the leadership of Hedmark County Council (NO). The proposal succeeded, and the results are accessible here.
  • German Group in AEBR

In case of interest, please contact the particular Task Force or AEBR main office in Gronau (


AEBR Global Initiative

Not only European border regions struggle with topics related to their geographical position. AEBR Global Initiative expands activities and projects of AEBR in other continents, bringing the knowledge of AEBR through the implementation of targeted projects.

More information on AEBR Global Initiative is available here.

Back to overview
Sign up for our newsletter
Stay in touch

    Become a member
    Have a voice in cross-border cooperation